Photo Uploader

File Upload

    Edit Media Title

    Tag photo

    Player Team

    Tagged Players

    Tagged Teams

    SDSU MBB: Daum named to Wooden Award Watch List

    LOS ANGELES - South Dakota State's Mike Daum added another preseason nod Tuesday as The John R. Wooden presented by Wendy's announced its Preseason Top 50 today on ESPN's SportsCenter and on

    Chosen by a preseason poll of national college basketball experts, the list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who are the early front-runners for college basketball's most prestigious individual honor.

    Daum, who was also named to the NABC's Player of the Year and the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year watch lists, earned preseason Wooden Award recognition last season as well.

    The Jackrabbits open the 2018-19 season Tuesday at home, welcoming Grand Canyon to Frost Arena for a 7 p.m. tip.

    Kamar Baldwin Butler Big East Jr. G
    RJ Barrett Duke ACC Fr. F
    Tyus Battle Syracuse ACC Jr. G
    Bennie Boatwright USC Pac-12 Sr. C
    Phil Booth Villanova Big East Sr. G
    Ky Bowman Boston College ACC Jr. G
    Clayton Custer Loyola Chicago Missouri Valley Sr. G
    Mike Daum South Dakota State Summit League Sr. F
    Carsen Edwards Purdue Big Ten Jr. G
    Jon Elmore Marshall Conference USA Sr. G
    Daniel Gafford Arkansas SEC So. F
    Darius Garland Vanderbilt SEC Fr. G
    Kellan Grady Davidson Atlantic 10 So. G
    Quentin Grimes Kansas Big 12 Fr. G
    Kyle Guy Virginia ACC Jr. G
    Rui Hachimura Gonzaga WCC Jr. F
    Ethan Happ Wisconsin Big Ten Sr. F
    Markus Howard Marquette Big East Jr. G
    Jalen Hudson Florida SEC Sr. G
    De'Andre Hunter Virginia ACC So. G
    Keldon Johnson Kentucky SEC Fr. G
    Sagaba Konate West Virginia Big 12 Jr. F
    Romeo Langford Indiana Big Ten Fr. G
    Dedric Lawson Kansas Big 12 Jr. F
    Nassir Little North Carolina ACC Fr. F
    Caleb Martin Nevada Mountain West Sr. F
    Cody Martin Nevada Mountain West Sr. F
    Charles Matthews Michigan Big Ten Sr. G
    Luke Maye North Carolina ACC Sr. F
    Juwan Morgan Indiana Big Ten Sr. F
    Jordan Murphy Minnesota Big Ten Sr. F
    Zach Norvell Jr. Gonzaga WCC So. G
    James Palmer Jr. Nebraska Big Ten Sr. G
    Eric Paschall Villanova Big East Sr. F
    Shamorie Ponds St. John's Big East Jr. G
    Payton Pritchard Oregon Pac-12 Jr. G
    Cam Reddish Duke ACC Fr. F
    Justin Robinson Virginia Tech ACC Sr. G
    Chris Silva South Carolina SEC Sr. F
    Killian Tillie Gonzaga WCC Jr. F
    Reid Travis Kentucky SEC Sr. F
    Dean Wade Kansas State Big 12 Sr. F
    Nick Ward Michigan State Big Ten Jr. F
    PJ Washington Kentucky SEC So. F
    Tremont Waters LSU SEC So. G
    Lindell Wigginton Iowa State Big 12 So. G
    Kris Wilkes UCLA Pac-12 So. G
    Grant Williams Tennessee SEC Jr. F
    Zion Williamson Duke ACC Fr. F
    Cassius Winston Michigan State Big Ten Jr. G

    About the John R. Wooden Award

    Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best basketball player at an NCAA Division I university who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress towards graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), and last year's recipients, Kelsey Plum of Washington and Frank Mason III of Kansas.

    Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed nearly one million dollars to the universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the Wooden Award All-American recipients and has sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with the Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament brings together Special Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All-Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.

    The Legends of Coaching Award will be presented during the 4th Annual ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's, which will take place on Friday, April 6, 2018. For up-to-date information on the Wooden Award, please go to and follow the Wooden Award on Facebook at and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.

    0 Responses

    Leave a Reply

    Submit comment


    C.C. OHarra
    SDSB Site Manager: West River Sports ... and Then Some
    Covering the Pheasant Belt
    John Wayne Jordan
    Covering West River Boys Hoops
    Jim Bussell
    Bringing you stories, tips, tricks and Black Hills fishing reports.
    Taylor Mohnen
    Western South Dakota Wrestling Insider
    Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame
    The Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame was started in 1972. Awards are given annually by the Officials.
    South Dakota Boys Basketball Analyst
    Ranger Reporter
    Spotlighting West River Athletes
    Covering/Archiving Lyman High School sports. SDSU Alum.
    Dan Genzler
    High School and College Sports Analyst
    College Report
    Coverage of SD College Sports
    Trail Buzzard
    Conservationist and Black Hills Trail Aficionado
    Nate Brown
    Sports Analyst: Live Events
    Always on the lookout for video worth sharing.....
    Player Spotlight
    Brought to you by Benson Sports Training


    Kathy Cornelison
    Outdoor Cooking Fun
    Jimmy the Buzzard
    Always Gazing into his Crystal Ball....
    Nick Heeb
    SDSB Correspondent
    Clem Overpeck
    Wilcard Blogger Focusing upon Girls Basketball